$20 for a solution! First Time Deploy to Staging: `Error: This does not seem to be a WordPress install.`

I’m getting the following error when running a deploy to staging for the first time and while I understand what it’s saying I don’t know how to troubleshoot this. Particularly because I’ve basically just followed the Docs instructions on setting up everything so I don’t know why it wouldn’t find the site in the default path.

Related: Johnpbloch/wordpress moved to a new configuration and WP goes missing

Thanks. I have read through that post but it doesn’t seem relevant to me. There’s a lot of talk about things totally unrelated. Maybe it is caused by the same issues but I don’t know what “the answer” is there - especially as it relates to my setup.

I’m brand new to Trellis, I’m just following the instructions, so I’m trying to understand if this is a bug or if I managed to miss a step somewhere…

How does your wordpress_sites.yaml file look for staging? If you SSH to the server and look at /srv/www/<site.com>/current, what’s there?

1 Like

Interestingly, I don’t have a current folder.

For experimentation purposes I:

1. SSH’d in as web@
  2. Manually created current
  3. Then executed wp core download
  4. Re-rain ansible-playbook deploy.yml -e env=staging -e site=staging.EXAMPLE.com

And got a symlink error. I know how to create symlinks but I’m not sure where to point it to.

/srv/www/staging.kangapestcontrol.com/current exists but is not a symbolic link

But that wouldn’t really solve the root issue obviously. I need to know why this occurred in the first place and whether or not it was user-error or a bug with Trellis.

Thanks for your help everyone.