Bedrock-ansible "group_vars" file

I am totally new to bedrock-ansible, I have VirtualBox and Ansible installed. The project is just a practice one so there is no client url. I want to learn how to develop with VirualBox and vagrant In Bedrock-Ansible in the group_vars file, should wordpress_sites be 'localhost:3000", since that is what Gulp will be watching with BrowserSync? Is there anyway someone could give me an example of how the group_vars file should be filled out if Im just using localhost:3000 for my url while developing a site. Or am I completely confused and I need to using something like Digital Ocean to host it for development? Also it would great to see how vagrant-bindfs usage is placed into the Vagrant File? ex. “config.bindfs.bind_folder “/path/to/source”, “/path/to/destination”, options” I installed the vagrant-bindfs plugin in the terminal. I have got more questions but should probally start another thread so as to not go off topic. Thanks in advance for any help with these matters.

1. Host name: don’t use localhost:3000. Just add something generic like wp.dev to your site_hosts. Vagrant will automatically add that host to your hosts file if you install vagrant-hostsupdater.

2. Use that host above (such as wp.dev) for BrowserSync. Just edit your manifest.json.

3. You don’t need to do anything for vagrant-bindfs to work. Just having the plugin installed is enough.

https://github.com/roots/roots-example-project.com is a new project but it’s going to act as our official example repo integrating our projects. It’s a good resource to look at since it’s all configured and working.

1 Like

Thanks so much for the help, During Tasks being installed, I got this when trying vagrant up:

**TASK: [php | Add PHP 5.6 PPA]** *************************************************
**failed: [default] => {"failed": true}**
**msg: failed to fetch PPA information, error was: HTTP Error 503: Service Temporarily Unavailable**