Best workflow for Sage

Hello,

Hoping someone can point me in the right direction. So I took the plunge a few years ago and developed a site using the old roots 6 and popped up a site: https://www.umbrella-host.co.uk/ its a few years old now and I’m looking at updating it to the new Sage framework.

I’m not an expert by any means and I’m hoping that some of the confusion I am having in understanding the new framework will help me to create a cleaner theme to deploy that will above all stay clean and not get bloated over time! Was using grunt and composer previously and got the screencast which was hugely helpful. Now it seems sage is using Gulp and bower. So a new learning curve I guess albeit a small one.

So the questions I have are:

1. Initially when I first deployed the previous site it was really clean at first but then got bloated with different plugins me and the team added. So bower, can that or does that get used to add in different plugins/packages? Trying to get my head around this. Every time we add a plugin it adds its own css and js. Should I now start using bower to add the plugin/package which will then add the css and js to existing css/js files via gulp? or am I incorrect here? having searched in docs I couldn’t find anything specific to help me out here…

2. I want to further modify the theme by adding some schema code. Now if there is an update to the Sage theme in github and I pull in that to clone will this overwrite all my changes? very new to Git, so what’s the best work-flow to be used here so that I can maintain my customisations but be able to update the theme at the same time keeping it current?