Edit specific less files or only app and variables?

This may be a matter of personal preference, but I’m new to LESS and not sure if there is a best practice on this.

When modifying a theme, should you avoid editing the individual .less files and anything that can’t be changed via variables.less should be defined in app.less?

I’m going to use a very basic example:
The .navbar has a 1px solid border and it’s defined in navbar.less. If you wanted it to be 3px, would you just edit the border property in navbar.less, or would you put your change in app.less and let it override it?

Again, I understand this may be a personal preference thing, but I just wanted to get other’s opinions. Does it really only matter if you plan on updating the bootstrap less files in the future?

Thanks.

Some people will never update the other files so they have the option to update Bootstrap in the future. Personally, it really depends on the site. For a small business type site where they won’t be doing lot’s of updates with me, or probably anyone really, I’ll go ahead and modify the Bootstrap files.

If it were a bit larger site, or one that I wanted to keep better updated, including Bootstrap, I would probably avoid editing those files. it’s hard to say what “best practice” might be though when you’re talking about start themes and frameworks. Even though they’re nice to update, they’re often used as a base, and thus need a good amount of editing.

Many web apps use a PHP framework like Symfony, Laravel, etc. Oftentimes though, they are the base, and are added and built upon. It makes it difficult to upgrade, after so much modification, you probably only need to update sections you know you could use anyways.

There’s a section on customising in the Bootstrap docs. It only covers overriding styles at the moment but I’m confident they will cover editing .less files and mixins in due course.