First time setting up Trellis - unclear when following docs - willing to pay for some help :)

Hi everyone,

I’ve been working with WordPress for a little over 6 years now but this is my first time setting up a local environment and using any remotely similar to Trellis. And I’ll be honest, I am just getting into using Github as well.

I’ve been having a hard time following the docs for getting started, as I feel a lot of the steps in the docs assume that you already know certain things. They don’t seem to be geared towards the average WordPress developer who’s just always installed WP on their server and went to work from there. I was going through page-by-page and got as far as the SSH keys. I guess I’m just not seeing the whole picture here of how this works. i.e. how I connect to my remote server, how this syncs with my Github account, how the actual WordPress install happens, etc.

I’d really like to learn how this is done because it seems like the most efficient way to build a WordPress site but I feel like I need my hand held a little bit for the first time setting this all up. I think some YouTube videos for beginners would go a long way to getting more people to sign onto Roots.

With all that being said, I’d be willing to pay someone (very fairly) who has experience with Trellis, Bedrock and Sage to sit with me for an hour or two via Skype where I can share my screen and have someone walk me through getting this all set up so I can get going on my new site. I am using a dedicated server for hosting through iWeb. I am available all weekend for anyone who is interested.

I’ve been coding for a long, long time and understand WordPress inside and out, so I’m not a total noob, I am just a total novice when it comes to local environments and command prompts and Github, etc. I think once someone walks me through this once, I’ll understand much better how it all works, and I also just want to make sure everything I’ve done thus far with the install is correct.