General questions about cap and vagrant workflows for clients

I imagine this probably differs from project to project and from developer to developer, but I’m wondering how the Roots community at large utilizes the Capistrano and Vagrant tools in Bedrock for the most client-friendly workflow. (Also, like many people here, I’m pretty new to these tools and am figuring out how best to use them.)

Specific questions bouncing around in my head:

• Do you use the Vagrant box as a deploy area, as Scott does in the Cap screencast? (I was under the impression that he was doing that purely for demonstration purposes, but I wasn’t sure if Vagrant is often used in this way, rather than purely as a LAMP server/MAMP replacement–which is how I’ve been using it so far.)
  • Using Capistrano to deploy personal projects into date-based folders makes sense, but when working on client projects, I could see it causing problems in the future–particularly if the client hires another developer to hack on the site at some point. If each release is a set-in-stone, tagged version of the code, how do we accommodate a developer who, down the road, wishes to change a background color or whatever? Do we assume they know how to use Capistrano and git? Or do we simply deploy to date-based folders in our dev/staging environments and just push the final files into the client’s server, sans Capistrano’s additional folders and symlinks?
  • If the future developer happens to know git, Capistrano, and all these other fun toys, how do you guys share your dev environment with the client in such a way that’s private, and that they’ll actually be able to access it down the road? Do you just give them a ZIP file with all the relevant information, or do you provide access to your Bitbucket/github/etc. repositories? Do you provide any sort of instructions or a README for future devs?