Gulp watch + browsersync: I cant get it working properly

Hi all,
i’m fairly new to sage and I discovered gulp and browsersync only some days ago. I think I do a mistake but I cant get gulp watch and browsersync working together semalessly:

1. I run gulp watch → browsersync starts normally and I can browse the interface and open a new tab with my site
  2. i modifiy _global.less located in assets/styles/common adding red color for h1
  3. browsersync reload my site tab with the new title color

Here is my problem:
I redo point 2 changing just the color to orange, browsersync reloads, ‘injecting main.css’ pops-up but … the title retrurn to the original color: black

Where is my mistake ? Why is it working for the first round and not for the following ‘cycles’ ?
thanks for your help.

Are there any errors in your terminal?

No I have no errors in my terminal, any idea ?

Are you sure orange is spelled correctly? Really not sure what the problem could be.

orange is spelled correctly in _global.less, but I realize that main.css injected in my browsersync tab doesn’t contain any modification I did in _global.less.

In fact my modifications in less files (_global.less) are not written in main.css when i’m using gulp watch and it’s apparently why browsersync inject main.css without any change.

Any idea how to correct it ?

When in doubt, delete node_modules and run npm install again. Make sure gulp compiles correctly. Make sure node and npm are at least the minimum versions required by Sage.

1 Like

I had a similar problem, but I could never get my styles to change at all. My terminal tells me wiredep runs… And finishes… And then 2 files change (main.css, editor-style.css) and then it’s finished, but the changes never happen. I tried delete node_modules and run npm install again along with Gulp to compile and the problem continues.