How can I force www subdomain usage?

Hello there,

I am kinda new to Trellis and I have successfully deployed it on a droplet. Everything is fine except that I would like to force the www subdomain but can’t make it work.

I know this topic has already been brought here before but it is outdated now.

I tried multiple configuration in my wordpress_sites.yml, notably by setting the canonical url to www.mydomain.com without success.

How could I force the www subdomain ?

Show us what you tried. Did you re-provision the server afterwards?

Here is what I ended up with, which makes infinite redirections :

wordpress_sites:
  www.mydomain.com:
    site_hosts:
      - canonical: www.mydomain.com
      redirects:
          - mydomain.com
    local_path: ../site
    repo: myrepo.git
    repo_subtree_path: site
    branch: master
    multisite:
      enabled: false
    ssl:
      enabled: true
      provider: letsencrypt
    cache:
    env:
      wp_home: https://www.mydomain.com

After every test change to the configuration file I re-provisioned the server by running :

ansible-playbook server.yml -e env=production

This probably isn’t the answer, but Chrome aggressively caches redirections. Have you tried this solution in a different browser, or from your phone? It could be that Chrome and the site are arguing over which URL is canonical.

I’m usually on Safari and disabled the cache, but I tried on FF and Chrome too without success.
I also tried HTTP code checker like https://httpstatus.io to see what happens, but I get too many redirections.

@Asch Could you also try a deploy (deploy.yml) after your provision (server.yml)?

During deploys, the WP_HOME and WP_SITEURL constants are updated via env vars based on the first canonical url in your site_hosts.