Infrastructure: how to make a fast, global site

Hi,
I’m a decent developer, but Trellis is really my first foray into any sort of infrastructure. I don’t have any kind of background in web server config, so the following comes from a place of ignorance; please understand that while reading :slight_smile:

I have a client with offices located around the globe, and they’re requesting an “intranet” (internal, employee-facing-only) site which is available and fast for all of their worldwide users. They currently host a site on their internal VMWare environment at one of their US locations, but have found that tasks like watching training videos over their site-to-site VPNs to their global locations is prohibitively slow.

So… how do you do something like that? I’m comfortable suggesting a solution hosted at AWS or Digital Ocean and somehow locking down access only to their locations’ IPs (suggestions welcome there, too), but the geographic load-balancing and mirroring of the application server is frankly beyond my current experience.

Have any of you set something like this up? Can you give me an idea of how complex this kind of setup is, and how much maintenance it might require? I want to set realistic expectations.

If anything I’ve asked is unclear please let me know and I’ll clarify. Thanks for any insight you can provide!

1 Like

That would be quite the task to undertake. If the biggest issue they have is streaming video on an intranet, I might suggest simply trying to have assets like videos served via S3 rather than an intranet. It could still quite possibly work the same, S3 has a lot of options for restricting access to objects. It could work in a relatively similar fashion with some set up.

S3 combined with Cloudfront should get assets served pretty quickly with a view to worldwide distribution. Without requiring actual servers in each location they’re being served.

2 Likes