Local > Staging > Deploy Setup Help :)

If somebody can point me to the right tutorial/link, please do so! I’ve tried to troubleshoot my question.

I’m new to developing the “correct” way, but have had a blast installing Trellis/Bedrock-Ansible/Sage and working on a site locally on my Mac. I’ve got my site working on ‘mysite.dev’ locally, and have pushed the code to my GitHub account. I work at an agency where we have a linux VPS, currently we develop and preview our sites by just uploading to mydev.com/preview/wordpress-site (no GitHub, just develop right there on the server).

I’d still like to use a mysite.com/preview/example to showcase a site to clients before going live. I was unable to find a good tutorial that included the gap between going local to a staging URL that is different from the live URL/domain. The examples of going from local > live seem straightforward, I’m just looking to stage the site on a different URL and then push the GitHub version live.

Apologies if this has been easily answered before!

Hey @uberaff, welcome to Roots!

If I understand correctly, you’d like to have a staging site on, say, staging.example.com with the same code and database as production.

First, you’ll need the IP of the staging server added to hosts/staging under both [staging] and [web].

Next, add your site details to staging/wordpress_sites.yml. If you’ve already configured it for production you can copy and paste this over. Remember to also modify the vault.yml file with the name of your site.

site_hosts creates the nginx server blocks that your staging site will be served at. You could use the IP address of the server here, which means going to http://123.456.789.10 would return your site, however if you have a domain to use you should enter this here. It could be stagingserverforexample.com or staging.example.com, as long as you point that domain/subdomain to the IP address of the server.