Plugin activation task during vagrant provisioning

Hi there,

First of all thanks for your great tools. Amazing work!

In order to better understand ansible and trellis in general, I tried to add a task to activate wordpress plugins.
I managed to do it but I’d like to chalenge this solution because I’m totally new to ansible and trellis. I’d like to hear from you to know if you have better solution, suggestions, etc.

Here is how I do it:

• I’ve added this task to roles/wordpress-install/tasks/main.yml
- name: Activate Plugins
  command: wp plugin activate
           {{ item.1.name }}
           --allow-root
  args:
    chdir: "{{ www_root }}/{{ item.0.site_id }}/current/"
  register: wp_activate_results
  with_subelements:
    - wordpress_extra
    - plugins
  when: item.1.activate == True
  changed_when: "'Success: Plugin' in wp_activate_results.stdout"

just after the existing wordpress-install tasks Install WP and Install WP Multisite.

• I also created a new file inside group_vars/development / called wordpress_extra.yml:
# Documentation: https://roots.io/trellis/docs/local-development-setup/
wordpress_extra:
  wfv2.com:
    site_id: wfv2.com
    plugins:
      - { name: 'plugin1', activate: true }
      - { name: 'plugin2', activate: true }

Of course those plugins are also declared inside composer.json of the wfv2.com project.

I think the ugly thing is the way I manage the loop with subelements, a new file (wordpress_extra) and site_id which repeat the key name.

Alternative :
Use the following command as a task. With this one, no need to create wordpress_extra.yml :
wp plugin activate --all --allow-root
but I’d like to keep the oportunity to install a plugin but not activate during provisioning

Any suggestion is welcome!

Your solution looks pretty good for the most part.