Sage 9 - using JS / Jquery from an old Sage 8 theme

Hello, I am hitting some problems using JS and Jquery code in Sage 9. I am trying to bring over some JS code from an older Sage 8 theme, and when I run npm start to watch the folder, I get numerous ESLint errors from my Common.js file where I placed the code - mostly errors about style, tab indentation, using var when I should use something else, etc etc. I can’t even bring across simple Jquery statements from my old theme to the new one.

I am assuming this is because Sage 9 conforms to ES6 and my code is ES5 / vanilla JS. I am a bit concerned that I will need to convert all my code from the old syntax to the new syntax - I’m not a JS programmer so I am finding this prospect a bit daunting.

Is there a converter of some kind I can use? Or some other workaround where my old code can co-exist with the Sage 9 way of doing things? Or maybe I’m just going about this the wrong way entirely?

Also this seems to be a problem with 3rd party packages I’m bringing in from Webpack… especially ones that aren’t ES6 friendly. Should the ESLint system ignore such dependencies entirely?

1 Like

I have managed to get some test Jquery code running by using some special comments as per ESLint docs:

/* eslint-disable */

$( document ).ready(function() {
        $( "a" ).click(function( event ) {
            alert( "Thanks for visiting!" );
        });
    });

/* eslint-enable */

I am wondering though if I am on the right track or if there’s still a better solution.

1 Like

Been there too. I decided to migrate everything to ES6 (mainly cause I wanted to upskill with ES6 anyway), but yea, sometimes you can just disable the linting of a file or a portion of a file and get it done quickly!
I think there’s no right/wrong way on this. It’s mainly up to the time/resources you can spend for a project.
The code will still work, it simply doesn’t comply with the eslint rules!

1 Like