Sage workflow (from local to remote server)

Hello guys,
I read the ebook “theme development with-sage” and seen the screencast “theme development with gulp and bower” and I have understand the main feature of Sage Theme.

I am a freelance web designer and usually I must show to my customer the various steps of development… then the best way for me is develop directly on remote server I think…

My workflow is modify Sage in local with MAMP and Sublime Text and with the option “upload_on_save: true” upload the files modified to my VPS (remote server), where I configured WordPress and all the plugins that I use (WPML, ACF, Gravity Forms, etc).
With this method, however, I can not upload automatically the two main file (main.css and main.js) and I must doing manually… I think there is others better methods.

I must work directly on remote server because I do not want to configure two times all (database, plugin, widget, tex content) and upgrade them when modified…

I am confused about a lot of the developer tools… Bedrock, Capistrano, Vagrant, Trellis… :frowning:

I would develop in local and push all files that modify (WordPress settings, plugins, database, theme files like main.css and main.js) to show online the same website that I have in local, is possible?

What is the better workflow for my case?
I know that I am not a senior developer, but someone can help me to work better?

THANK YOU!

Hi Mateo.

I use a similar set up i.e. running sites locally through MAMP and I use Sublime as a text editor. However, I do not auto upload on save. Most projects would consist of a local server, a staging server (VPS) and a live server (I personally use WP Engine). I use git in my workflow for version control and auto deployment but I’ll skip that for now. My steps in your case would be:

1. Develop initial build locally
  2. Upload a full copy to the staging server once I’m happy with the initial build