Staying DRY While Making a Portfolio Site for All My Projects

I am a beginning designer and programmer working on designing my personal website. I found Sage and love the structure and logic it brings to my WordPress development workflow.

My site will essentially be a way to highlight the various projects I am working on or have completed. Basically a fancy resume, or a portfolio with multiple sections. Since I have multiple interests, I was planning on writing a top level page for each of my main areas of interest. My design would encourage users to browse through these pages and see what I do in each area. I am going to put a lot of effort into writing and designing these pages till they looked perfect, since they will be people’s first impressions of me.

Beneath these top level pages, I will also have pages that document individual projects in more detail and provide resources or in depth-notes. I also host project source files on a GitLab instance.

Then I started thinking. I had been reading in the Sage docs about DRY. But it’s hardly DRY if when I publish the code for a new project (on my GitLab), I have to add a project page on my website and update the top level page for that category of projects (I want my site to show that I’m active). Then if I want people to know about it, I’d have to publish a blog post about the project as well!

So now every project has to be described in four places. Not fun. An idea started to form.

What if I could distil those top level pages I though I’d have to hand write into logical groupings of similar content? The page might have some static content at the top, but each section of content could be pulled from my blog based on the category and tag. Then I could update my site simply by making a post and tagging it properly. The top-level pages would rarely need to be edited.