The Sage Book -What am I getting for my money?

Hi,

I probably need “The Book” to get up to speed, without dickering about and finding the answers by trial/error and research/questions.

I certainly don’t mind paying for the book either, considering the great tools we have been provided with for no upfront cost.

In fact I feel I should support you if I do actually end up using the tools, although I have not yet made a decision if this is definitely the way I want to go.

So right now, the only concern I have, is that the book is pretty small (what’s that, 60 pages?)

I’m always willing to support development, and so far, from what I can tell, Sage is actually pretty cool.

What will disappoint me though, is if I spend 40 bucks only to discover that the content is a totally high-level overview without any kind of instructions for the configuration best practices.

I got pretty far in with another framework called Runway. Had great promise, turned out to be junk.

I’m not a total newbie, but I am also not an expert in the fields of Node, Bower, Gulp. (bit concerned about the future of Bower).

With “The Book”, what will I actually be spending money on that is not already available in the docs and on the forum?

Will the book be updated with current developments over time?

etc…

Can you please offer me a bit of reassurance?

Thanks

Speaking from experience yes the book is updated as I’ve been sent the updates.

I put off buying the book for ages just as I had to put in payment information (typical web story) and the book was a great read. Answered many thoughts and problems I’d had but not only that but it went into great details about theme development in general. I learned a load about best practices from this (as someone who’s mainly been a backend programmer moving into the Wordpress full stack world)

Spurred me into reading “The Pragmatic Programmer” as well which has, with no underestimation, changed my life.

In short, buy the book!

2 Likes