Ajax Posts by category

On my blog page, I have created a dropdown of all the categories with their url as the value. I’m still learning how to use ajax but I am trying to load posts based on the category selected. After reading this discussion I have gotten my admin ajax to load properly, but when you select a dropdown item it still pulls all posts instead of just the category. I can tell because my “console.log(got);” shows me it grabbed a page with the body class of “blog app-data index-data home-data”. I’m not sure if I have added my helper incorrectly or I am setting up my ajax url incorrectly?

home.php

<h2 class="title-template"><?php echo (is_home() ? __('Blog') : get_the_archive_title()); ?></h2>
 <?php
        $cat_terms = get_terms(array('taxonomy' => 'category'));
      ?>
         <form action="" method="post" id="blog-filter">
        	Filter By <select name="blog_sort" id="blog-cat-menu">
        	    <option value="<?php echo get_permalink(get_option('page_for_posts')); ?>" selected><?php _e('All Categories'); ?></option>
              @foreach($cat_terms as $t) 
                <option value="<?php echo get_term_link($t); ?>"><?php echo $t->name; ?></option>
              @endforeach
        	</select>
        </form>
      <div class="blog-wrap">
    		<ul class="my-blogs">
    			<?php while ( have_posts() ) : the_post(); ?>	
          	       @include('partials.content')
    			<?php endwhile; ?>
    		</ul>
      </div>

setup.php

add_action('wp_enqueue_scripts', function () {
    wp_enqueue_style('sage/main.css', asset_path('styles/main.css'), false, null);
    wp_enqueue_script('sage/main.js', asset_path('scripts/main.js'), ['jquery'], null, true);
    $ajax_params = array(
      'ajax_url' => admin_url( 'admin-ajax.php' ),
      'ajax_nonce' => wp_create_nonce( 'my_nonce' ), 
    );
    wp_localize_script( 'sage/main.js', 'ajax_object', $ajax_params);
}, 100);

common.js

$(document).on('change', '#blog-cat-menu', function() {