Asynchronous CSS Loading in Sage

Originally published at: https://roots.io/guides/asynchronous-css-loading-in-sage/

Why load CSS asynchronously? All stylesheets are render-blocking by nature. Meaning that referencing CSS stylesheets with <link rel="stylesheet"> causes the browser to stop parsing the HTML and wait while a stylesheet loads. This is bad for performance and will trigger warnings on all page speed tests. Asynchronous CSS automation The new <link rel="preload"> attribute allows…

12 Likes

Great guide, just what I was looking for! thank you @jasonbaciulis.

However, I’m getting a FatalThrowableError: Call to a member function setAttribute() on null on the $tag->setAttribute('rel', 'preload') line for the Async load CSS filter.

$dom and $tag vars look like this on that line. Am I missing something? Sorry if it’s a dumb question, but I’m kinda new to this:

Thanks for your help and this awesome guide!

Try debugging a $handle and $html values. It looks like $handle is missing on some tag and maybe you can pinpoint which <link> tag is loaded at that time.

Found it! The clean_style_tag function on Soil removes ids from style tags, so getElementById($handle . '-css') returns null.

Solved it by disabling add_theme_support('soil-clean-up'), though I’m loosing all the other goodies from Soil’s clean up :stuck_out_tongue:

Good catch. So it’s something to be aware with other optimization plugins as well that might remove ids.

You could try calling async CSS earlier before Soil. Just need to find out what priority Soil is using and reduce the number from 999.

When i test this local it works fine but after deploying it to staging I got a http server 500 error. any idea? Still got the error “FatalThrowableError: Call to a member function setAttribute() on null” even if I disable soil-clean-up or decrease the priority of the filter to , for example , 10

hmmm getElementByID seems to bee ‘null’??