Bedrock - prevent direct access to theme files

Hello,

I am quite new to wordpress and find it amazing to have the ability to use vue on it.

Now I am experiencing a little problem, all the files in my theme folder are accessible via direct link.
How can I prevent that?

Even if I set the ENV to production, they are still directly accessible.

You would need to configure this at the server level: Bedrock can’t really control this. Wordpress runs in your server’s public folder, therefore the files it needs (ie themes) are publicly accessible. For instance, images in your themes must have a publicly accessible url or they can’t be accessed by visitors.

Some suggestions are available around the forum on how to configure your server, ie here: How are you deploying this so that the vendor folder isn't exposed to the public?

thank you for your reply @alwaysblank ,

I require the use of some npm packages on the theme im playing around with and from the documentation I read/videos people npm init directly into their theme folder directory rather than the wordpress root folder, now I can resrtict the access to .php files with if (!defined('ABSPATH')) { exit; }, but how do I do the same for my package.json, webpack, tailwind.config.js, etc?

Do I add a .htaccess file and add them one by one?

You can use this .htaccess snippet to disable direct access to blade files.

# BEGIN Disable Access to Blade
<FilesMatch ".+\.(blade\.php)$">
    <IfModule mod_authz_core.c>
        # Apache 2.4
        Require all denied
    </IfModule>
    <IfModule !mod_authz_core.c>
        # Apache 2.2
        Order deny,allow
        Deny from all
    </IfModule>
</FilesMatch>
# END Disable Access to Blade

Files associated with the build process are not required in production because the build process is executed locally to generate files to be deployed.