Bedrock + Trellis - Am I ready to make the switch?

Hey all,

I could use some advice on whether or not I should dive into Bedrock and Trellis at this moment. Or maybe postpone for a rainy day.

I’m a Graphic Designer and I’ve started programming about two years ago. (better pays, and broader service :slight_smile: ) . About two months ago I came across Sage 10 and, by now, I’ve made 3 themes with it. I might say I feel comfortable with using it.

Currently I develop the site with Sage first in mamp. Export it with a plugin and upload the entire site remotely. But I’m starting to feel the frustrations with the hassle and inefficient way doing so.

Looking at Bedrock + Trellis looks a good time investment to learn and I can picture it working locally and with github, But this is where ends for me and where I would like to get some feedback.

Before I would get a webhost with shared hosting and an wordpress application installer. This manages the local backups and installs a clean site. For me that was easy. And I have no responsibilities when the site is down “they” just fix it. External backups are done with a plugin. Easy.

But for me, updating the theme is a hassle and versions could easily get mixed up. Plus, I now want to rollout multiple sites with the same WP base (plugins, themes, settings). This is where bedrock looks nice.

As for the hosting I’m completely in the dark. Wat would I need and what maintenance would it require?
From what I understand I would need a linux web server. But that’s where the knowledge ends for me.
Would I need to install appache on it manually?
Would I need to set a firewall manually?
Would I need to update the OS manually?
What are the downsides
Do I need to fix my own local backup and would this be a backup of the entire OS or site plus DB?
Are there webhosts with additional software preinstalled? (for maintenance and such)