Beginner starting roots, please help

I’m a novice web/Wordpress developer that would like to get accustomed to using big-boy toys, which is how I’ve wounded up here. I’ve been searching Google and these forums for a few hours and am having a difficult time seeing how all this works together. If somebody can answer a few questions and possibly expand upon them a bit (for others to see as well), it would be greatly appreciated. Once I understand some of the bigger picture stuff, I should hopefully be able to piece everything else together myself.

I’m working on Windows(8.1), planning on using WAMP for development, and Namecheap hosting for testing if this matters for any of the questions or to provide addition pointers.

1. Can Sage be used on it’s own to make a custom template without Bedrock or Trellis? Would I go about developing with it as I would with any other traditional Wordpress theme?

2. My understanding is that Bedrock is essentially better Wordpress filesystem based on the little description given on it’s page. (Other sites refer to Bedrock as a stack, while other refer to is as a framework) How is this used? Do I steup Bedrock to replace a standard WP install or am I still installing WP and updating it with Bedrock?

3. Is Trellis needed to work with either of the previous? If I did want to add Trellis into the mix, what does this workflow look like? How is Sage, Bedrock, Trellis all tied together?

Once I get up and running and complete my first project, I am planning on throwing together a getting started ‘tutorial’ on this forum for beginners like me to reference, so don’t be afraid of going off topic on any of this stuff.

Thanks to all that take the time and patience to answer!

1 Like

Here are some quick answers. I’d be glad to try to add to any of this or clarify anything.

Yep, Sage can be used without Bedrock or Trellis.