Best Beginner Practices/Setup?

I’m looking to start devoting a lot more time to wordpress/web development and after spending sometime searching for workflow processes I’ve come to like the idea of Trellis/Roots/Bedrock .

I currently have a rarely used PC running as a windows media server that I’m considering reformatting to ubuntu to use as a local dev and then purchasing a digital ocean server for production. (I don’t think I need any staging at the moment as I’m looking to just learn on my own)

Does what I’ve just outlined seem like a good idea and if not what should I change?

Trellis install a Virtual Machine with Ubuntu for you. So, I think you don’t need to install Ubuntu. Trellis respect your workflow in many aspects. You can use your regular text editor, your regular OS and so on…

Anyway, I think Ubuntu is much better option than Windows.

Hope this help you, I’m a beginner too.

Yea, I’ve tried setting it up on Windows but I’m constantly running into errors/issues.

This isn’t me hating on Microsoft/Windows, but I do believe one of the best things you can do as a developer to improve is to learn Unix/Linux. Unless you’re a strict Windows (such as .NET) developer, almost every single piece of software you’ll come across in your career will be Linux based: web servers, any programming language and their tools (debugging, package management, etc), source control, text editors, etc.

5 Likes

Yea, with the issues I was having I just opted to reformat and start fresh on Ubuntu, still getting some basic things setup and then I’ll have a chance to try and setup trellis/bedrock/sage again.

1 Like

I’ve used Macs for years but switched back to using an Ubuntu machine for WordPress development and I just love it.

There is a depth of control with open source that you just can’t get with Macs and Windows.

Tools like Atom and LXD are getting better all the time.