Hello! Why the simplest syntax does not work
@php
$counter = 1;
$secondCounter = $counter + 22;
@endphp

Does not work ?

Do you have any logs ?

Have you saved your file as .blade.php?

Hi, were you using @php(...) format as well as the @php ... @endphp format of the blade directive in this file? Blade only supports using one style in a single file so they all have to be one or the other.

Mixing them can cause the blade templates to partially compile leaving behind some of the directives.

3 Likes

I am still new to Blade, but if I use @php @endphp format in the standard footer.blade.php it indeed gives me errors (see below)
Are those errors predictable?
And why would Sage use @php() as the default format here then?

<footer class="content-info">

@php(dynamic_sidebar('sidebar-footer'))

@php $counter = 1; @endphp

{{ $counter + 1 }}

</footer>

This gives an error ‘Undefined variable $counter’
Commenting out @php(dynamic_sidebar('sidebar-footer')), gives error: ’ unexpected token “<”

<footer class="content-info">

@php $counter = 1; @endphp

{{ $counter + 1 }}

@php(dynamic_sidebar('sidebar-footer'))

</footer>

This works fine
Commenting out @php(dynamic_sidebar('sidebar-footer')) still works fine

Are you sure you don’t have any faulty PHP in your sidebar scripts?

Yes. It is default Sage. didn’t touch it. And it works fine in the second example. Is this not reproducible?

Your example in the footer is mixing the formats of @php Just don’t do that.

If you need to add a block @php like you have, you need to also go and update all inline @php() uses to be blocks.

And why would Sage use @php() as the default format here then?

They would and have done this because adding logic into the view, through the use of @php is contrary to MVC and they tend to only dip into PHP for small single line calls that are easier to do quickly instead of creating a sage directive for the one or two places they need to do it.