Configure database character set to utf-8 (utf8mb4)

Hi,

Is it possible to change the selected the character set and collation for the database provisioning?

I searched in the config files to see if there was a parameter that was setting it but I didn’t found anything.

I guest I will be suppose to add a settings in the mariadb/defaults/main.yml but not sure which naming convention is ok for this playbook. I’m new in DevOps stack and with Ansible, I found this type of setting:
mariadb_default_client_config:
- ‘default-character-set = utf8’

But I don’t find the right way to add this kind of configuration.
Someone knows this?

Thank you

I’m not a pro on the topic, but I think that if the project you’re deploying (repo) is Bedrock-based, it should default to utf8mb4 for a WP site’s new DB tables, so you maybe wouldn’t need the setting in the mariadb defaults.

If you’re importing an existing DB after deploy, a DB that isn’t already utf8mb4, I think you’d need to manually update the DB, e.g., https://florianbrinkmann.com/en/3457/switch-wordpress-from-utf8-to-utf8mb4-retrospectively/

Thank you for your answer @fullyint, yes I use Bedrock, I was so focus on provision that I didn’t think to look at the WP db config file.

But that makes me think this differences between the 2 configurations do not respect the principle of keeping same exact environment all the way to the production phase.

This could cause problem if the dev environment use special chars that could be output in the wrong way on the remote part, am I wrong?

You mention “differences between the 2 configurations” but I think this DB_CHARSET would typically be the same for dev, staging, and production.

When you set up your project’s files locally, your site is presumably the same Bedrock project (repo) as you will use for dev, staging, and production, thus all having the same DB_CHARSET.

Is there some other config you’re thinking of that does differ between environments?