CSS file not generated when running yarn:start

Hi,

I’m new to Sage and trying to figure it out.
I’ve found out that some CSS blob is generated, but somehow this is cached very hard.
I’ve set me dev url to something like https://domain.dev and when I run the command there’s a site opened at localhost:3000.
Now I want to use my own domain for development but when I change something as simple as body{background-color:red;} to {background-color:blue} it takes about 5 minutes before the changes show up.
I’ve noticed that the dist/scripts directory does contain a js file, but there’s not directory for the styles.
When I run yarn:build, a dist/styles directory is created and it does contain a CSS file.

Is there a way to force the watch method to generate CSS files as well?

Kind regards,
Chris

Hi @ChrisRedButton,

That’s correct. yarn start injects your styles into the browser via JavaScript instead of compiling them into an actual CSS file. When you save a change to your SCSS files, it should show up in the browser almost instantly when you are viewing localhost:3000 (which is served by BrowserSync).

If you want to develop using your dev URL (like domain.dev), you will need to quit yarn start and manually run yarn build each time you change your styles or scripts. yarn start only works with the localhost:3000 URL.

Hi @mmirus,

Yeah I figured out that the build command will generate the CSS file. I was hoping that there was a way to make the yarn start command generate a css file as well. But if I understand you correctly it is not possible to make yarn start generate a CSS file?

Not as far as I know assuming you want to keep the live updates. If you don’t care about that and would be happy to just have it compile your assets whenever you save rather than inject them, then you could replace the start command with your own version.