Custom page content - best way to do it

Hi all, I’m new to roots, but do have a little WP experience.

I’m trying to work out the best way to approach the templates of a website: The design has almost unique content layouts for each page.

That is to say that the about page content layout is completely different to the service page content layout, which is different to the projects page content etc. To handle the different layouts I’ll be making extensive use of the Advanced Custom Fields plugin.

The header and footer are slightly different for the home page, but always the same for the content pages.

I understand that I could create a page-about.php and it’s corresponding base.php for each of these content pages. However because header and footer of these pages are almost the same it seems like a waste to simply have duplicate versions of these files with different names.

Is there a better way to do it > I initialy though that this would be to create the different content layouts inside the templates directory, so that they all still call the same base files?

I’m unsure if the above is possible - can anyone suggest a good way of doing this. I’d like to keep the code as clean as possible and uphold the Roots ‘don’t duplicate’ idea.

Thanks

There’s no necessary “right” or “wrong” way to go about this. And it really depends on the design you are working with.

Just the page content? Then yes, set up a page-{name}.php file, and call a specific template. If anything is shared between pages, like sometimes you might use the same Carousel or the same section of posts from a custom post type, extract that away to another template file and call it on both pages with get_template_part().

If your homepage is different, then you have to decide how different, if you want to set up some conditionals in the header and footer files and keep them all centralized, or set up a new base-front-page.php and call a different templates/header.php and templates/footer.php files.