Developing with Yarn & Webpack, issues with error reporting and css

I’m new to Sage and coming from JointsWp which uses grunt. I’m having a couple of issues working with yarn start.

1. When it fails there’s no report. In order to see what broke it seems necessary to quit and run yarn run lint:styles to get the details, return to editing the scss, and repeatedly run yarn run lint:styles` again to see if the problem is solved. Surely there’s a better workflow that I am missing? Some way to turn on error reporting?

2. When working under yarn start there are no stylesheets — everything is rendered through webpack delivering the scss. This means there’s no way to see the rendered css and no way to make easy edits in the Inspector. It’s necessary to return to editing the scss, triggering another build, and return to the browser to see the results.

3. Doing step 2 is sloooow. I’m used to grunt where a scss edit is rendered in milliseconds. With yarn start it takes many seconds to rebuild all styles and scripts each time. For any single scss edit in Sage 9, with grunt I could have made 3-4 changes in the css in the Inspector and seen the results before settling on an edit to be made to the scss.

FYI each of the above issues cost me hours of research. I thought the webpack’s erasure of the css was a bug until I went to report it here and found a half-dozen identical reports. A note in the Sage 9 documentation would be appreciated.

Advice welcome.

Are the values in your config for your local dev URL or the path to your theme directory correct? What version of Sage 9 are you using?

publicPath would be /wp-content/themes/theme-name if you aren’t using Bedrock.

1. The error shows up right on the page as well as in the console and the terminal:

2. This means there’s no way to see the rendered css and no way to make easy edits in the Inspector. It’s necessary to return to editing the scss, triggering another build, and return to the browser to see the results.