Guidance getting started for local development

I’m trying to follow the Roots Example Project instructions (https://github.com/roots/roots-example-project.com) in order to start familiarizing myself with Trellis.

When I run vagrant up (in order to add and activate Soil via vagrant ssh) the process hangs at Mounting NFS shared folders… followed by this message after quite some time:

The following SSH command responded with a non-zero exit status.
Vagrant assumes that this means the command failed!

mount -o 'vers=3,udp' XXX.XXX.XXX.XXX:'/Users/[username]/Sites/example.com/site' /vagrant-nfs-example.com

Stdout from the command:

Stderr from the command:

stdin: is not a tty
mount.nfs: Connection timed out

What am I missing?

Also, I could use some guidance setting up my wordpress_sites development for the Trellis set up in order to begin developing a site locally.

As a side note, I’m a designer/front-end developer who’s historically used MAMP to build sites and manually deploy via FTP, which I now understand is not the best way of doing things. The Bedrock/Sage/Trellis workflow interests me very much but I’m experiencing a lot of difficulty as a novice to the whole thing. I’ve taken to Sage fairly well, and bumbled my way through Bedrock using MAMP, but I want to correctly use the whole toolset and best practices. The community’s guidance is really important and appreciated.

Looks like: https://github.com/edx/configuration/wiki/Vagrant-troubleshooting#the-following-ssh-command-responded-with-a-non-zero-exit-status-

Thank you, @austin.

Running vagrant up has succeeded and I was able to run vagrant ssh – what appeared to be holding me back was my ESET firewall.

Next, when I try to add Soil I get an error that the composer command was not found.

vagrant@example:~$ cd /srv/www/example.com/current && composer require roots/soil
No command 'composer' found, did you mean:
 Command 'compose' from package 'mime-support' (main)
composer: command not found