Has someone tips for deploying Sage with Bitbucket pipelines

I am new to both Sage and Bitbucket pipelines, but they seem to be the tool for the job. I have just figured out with Bitbucket pipelines to push to my staging server when I commit to my staging branch. But because the compiled files like CSS are ignored in the default .gitignore I need to figure out a way to build the site before pushing my site.

I could just try to do it myself, but I was hoping that someone here already uses Bitbucket pipelines with Sage and if they could share some pointers.

1 Like

I guess you should run Trellis deploy.yml playbook from pipleines container and use hooks to build stuff. Also, have I look at Build, Release, Run “factor” of 12-factor WordPress app.

@mvasin thanks for the reply, but this sounds like abracadabra to me. I got something working now and all my files are being pushed but I am missing the compiled files like the dist, vender and bower_compontends

This is what my pipeline looks like

and the log look likes this

So I got everything working, but how do I also push the compiled files?

git ftp doesnt push files which are in your .gitignore file. Which dist, vendor and bower_components seem to be (which is good ;)). But there is a way to push them via git ftp anyways, see https://github.com/git-ftp/git-ftp/issues/245

Hope this helps

Here’s my bitbucket-pipelines.yml:

image: kkarczmarczyk/node-yarn

pipelines:
  branches:
    master:
      - step:
          script:
            - cd wp-content/themes/sage
            - yarn install
            - yarn run build:production
            - apt-get install lftp
            - lftp -d -u $PREPROD_FTP_USERNAME,$PREPROD_FTP_PWD -e "set ssl:verify-certificate no ; mirror -e -R ./dist/ /wp-content/themes/sage/dist/ ; quit" ftp://$PREPROD_FTP_ADDRESS
  • You might have to do so with composer install for the vendor folder (not needed in my case)