How to deal with database synchronization

Hey, all. I’m new to the Wordpress world, but I’m working to help set up a multi-person enterprise-level site for a volunteer org I’m working with.

I have Trellis and Bedrock set up great. So I can fully push the site to a new environment.

But there is still the problem of the database. Not only do people build content in the database, but many plugins and themes also create tables and modify data in the database.

What I’m running into is I’m not seeing any reliable way to synchronize database changes.

The scenario that is coming up is that someone is working on a new theme, making changes to CSS, PHP and also the database. Or maybe they’re installing and configuring a new plugin.

Although regular content changes can be done on the live site, I can’t see how these kinds of changes can be safely done on the live site. But if they’re done on another test site, how do the changes get migrated to the live site without having to merge the database changes?

I hope I was clear in my question. I do think I’m missing something essential in how Wordpress development works.

Thanks!

They do not. This is, to some extent, a perennial unsolved (and potentially unsolvable in a generalized implementation) problem in a WordPress context. Because of the way that WordPress generates IDs for content (sequential integers) there is no good way to automate merging content. Usually the solution I’ve had for this is to have an environment (usually production) that is the source of truth. Data is pulled from this environment for testing, but data is never pushed to it. If there is data you want to develop “in secret” before release on production, it must be manually recreated on production after testing elsewhere, or migrated to production with a specific purpose-built tool, or built on production behind some kind of wall.