How to deploy to a domain that is not yet linked to hosting server?

Hello,

When this project started, we installed a brand new Virtual Machine to staging.domain1.com (www.domain1.com is on another hosting server, that is going to be brought back on the VM). I set up trellis to publish both staging and production servers on that VM. Staging has been working fine and development is going well.

In the meanwhile, the requirements have changed. The site currently developed on staging.domain1.com will need to be produced on the domain2.com domain name, that we will have in a few days. When we have it, I need to publish a “Site under maintenance” waiting page, whilst we continue developing on the staging.domain1.com.

This is my first project using Ansible and I’m puzzled as what I need to do (and a bit afraid to break the staging environment).

• Is it possible to use trellis to provision a production virtualhost when we do not have proper DNS redirection ?
  • Or Is it better that I configure the temporary virtualhost manually via SSH?
  • Or Should I create 2 completely separate Trellis setups, one for each domain (domain1.com domain2.com), then copy domain1 sourcecode over to domain2?

Any advise would be most welcome.

Have you tried this? Afaik the only issue you might encounter is LetsEncrypt so you may want to disable SSL until you get your DNS squared away.

Which VPS provider are you using? You can set up another server for $5 on Digital Ocean, which is generally suggested anyways to keep staging and production separate, for these reasons. Mess with staging without accidentally modifying the live site.

1 Like

Do you mean that with Trellis, one shouldn’t use the same VM for the various environments?
I’m not at liberty to reveal the VPS provider, but it is not DigitalOcean.

I thought I solved my issue but provisioning the production server seems to have erased the staging. gasp.