Including additional JS files

Hi all,

As this is my first post here, let me start by introducing myself;
My name is Steven, I’m a graphic designer and photographer from Belgium and once in a while I need to create a small business or personal website.

In the past I have created a couple of websites based on the good old Roots version 7.
I am starting a new personal web project as we speak and I am moving to Sage for the very first time…
I’ve bought the “Theme Development With Sage” book to get me started.

So,… I am new to Sage, Gulp and Bower but I’ve been reading and exploring for a few days now and I am pretty close to get it all working. Except for enqueuing additional JS files…

My Sage project is running on a MAMP environment (I know some of you guys don’t like MAMP, but that’s already complicated and challenging enough for me :smile: )

This is what I’ve got so far:

1. Installed Node.js

2. Ran the NPM, Bower & Gulp commands (Gulp created the dist/ directory)

3. Restored the Bootstrap Nav (thanks @smutek)

4. Added custom CSS to the component files

5. I need to add an additional JS file. This is a JS file I’ve been using for an older project and it will be useful in this project too. I created a new file in assets/scripts called custom.js and changed assets/manifest.json accordingly:

<

6. I have tried adding a new enqueue for the custom.js file by adding the following to setup.php:
    wp_enqueue_script('customjs', \asset_path('scripts/custom.js'), ['jquery'], null, true);

Unfortunately this doesn’t work for me.
If I am putting this enqueue on the bottom of setup.php, I get a blank screen and Firebug gives me : "NetworkError: 500 Internal Server Error.

Could someone please tell me what I am doing wrong?
Thank you in advance!
Steven

1 Like

Howdy! Looking good so far, if you look in your dist directory after running gulp, you should notice dist/scripts/custom.js in there.