Installing using bower and grunt

Hi guys, aplogies as I am a bit of a beginner to grunt/bower etc, but I am really keen to use them to assist my workflow. I have searched for hours trying to find a solution to my problem!

I am simply trying to install a jquery plugin, the roots way, which as far as I can tell is to use bower.

Here are the steps I have taken so far and my questions with them…

Install node.js and then grunt and bower
Q1. With grunt and bower, do I need to navigate to my roots theme directory first, or does it not matter where I install?

Run 'bower install ’ from command promt.
Q2. Again, should I do this from my roots theme directory?

Now - the plugin is not installed. When I run the install command, everything seems fine - it states the git path and shows no errors.

The plugin does not work (and it is not running, I have checked with firebug).

Q3.So what is supposed to have happened here? I read that files such as package.json, bowercc are involved, but how? Does it plonk the plugin somewhere?

Q4.Am I still suppoed to reference my plugin, I assume not as otherwise surely it is quicker just to drag and drop the file into assets/js.

Q5.Do I still HAVE to reference the script in the gruntfile, or is that just for validation/minification (which obviously I want and will use).

I would really, really appreciate an explanation as to the process, as I am banging my head against the wall here!

Thanks in advance.

Install node.js and then grunt and bower
Q1. With grunt and bower, do I need to navigate to my roots theme directory first, or does it not matter where I install?

A1. You need all three installed globally. NPM is the package manager for Node.js modules. NPM installs the dependencies listed in your package.json file. This includes Bower, Grunt, and Grunt modules (by default). You need to run $ npm install inside the directory that contains package.json or NPM will throw an error because it won’t know which modules to install.