Managing wp_options in Git

Hi everyone,

I’m new to roots/bedrock and wish I had found it before trying to hack out something similar with shell scripts… glad to see someone is doing it right. I’m now in the process of migrating to bedrock.

One thing that I’m trying to figure out is the pain of keeping the WP DB in sync across environments, especially wp_options. It seems like in WP-land a complete DB sync is the only popular option. In modern development of course your config settings are as vital as code to track, stage and test, and older stacks like WP make a mess of this.

The way I’m trying to manage this is to store important wp_option values in text files in source control. In my Wordpress git repo I have a folder like the following:

etc/wp-options/
  current_theme.txt
  easy-social-share-buttons.json
  permalink_structure.txt
  tantan_wordpress_s3.json
  thisismyurl_custom_media_fields.json

The .txt files are simple key-value pairs, and the .json files are complex option objects. The name of the file == the option_name field in the wp_options table.

I have a shell script that uses wp-cli to update a WP db with the contents of this folder:

function wp_option_update {
  for path in `find etc/wp-options -name \*.json`
  do
    filename=$(basename $path)
    wp option update ${filename%.*} --format=json < $path
  done

for path in `find etc/wp-options -name \*.txt`
  do
    filename=$(basename $path)
    wp option update ${filename%.*} "$(cat $path)"
  done
}