New to trellis...And trying to consider if this is worth it

Hello:

Sysadmin here. I am very new to Trellis. My IT life has mostly been spent fixing programmers’ environments that have either been abandoned or system / security updates broke their setup. Sorry for this very long and extended msg. I am old and my brain is not as flexible as it used to be.

Beautiful environments and frameworks like this are great; however, if you have to take care of it in an ER situation without ever having been part of the setup; to return the SITE/APP back to live is a huge pain. Thankfully, that part is now over.

However, during that process I got to get a closer look on the internals and functionality of the deployed Wordpress site. And it is pretty nice. It is obviously designed for easy usage by teams with Github integration and all that; but it also appears to make a very nice environment for individual developers that just want a really strong and well thought out deployment that handles plenty of things and to best practices for them that some developers may be much less familiar with: These advantages:

• constant and high level security
  • very nice SSL implementation both on nginx site & Certbot side (let’s encrypt)
  • very performance focused which has truly become a huge factor for end users
  • and actually easy implementation and configs once you get used to all the files.

So, all these advantages plus more are having me considering whether to just continue using the system for this current environment. And maybe for some others that are just vanilla installations!

This brings me to my first question:

For an old installation which was originally created around 2017 and has not been connected to or updated or anything since.

In bringing up this environment I manually upgraded the files in the App directory and installed / copied everything over manually to a new installation of Ubuntu 22.