Not Sure How To Get Multisite Functional in Dev Environment

I have been using trellis for single site instances for a while and I absolutely love it, but I have been tasked to take four individual sites and bring them into a WP multisite installation. I feel as though I have read the MultiSite Documentation (https://roots.io/trellis/docs/multisite/) and run through the forums feeling quite lost in the process. As a junior developer, I totally get if no one is able to answer his question or if there is answer already out there that I haven’t explored. I just need a little help breaking down this problem.

As the Multisite documentation states, I need to inject a bit of PHP into the application.php file to activate multisite, which I have done, but now comes the configuration of the group_vars (so I believe). Given the wording of the documentation it sounds like I need to create a multisite “entry” for each of my sites. I am planning on deploying four sites for a company with four different domains. Let’s say my developer domains are environment1.test, environment2.test, environment3.test, and environment4.test. I do not want to deploy to subdomains as that is not the end goal.

Given the wording of documentation, do I need to create a record (in group_vars/development/wordpress_sites.yml) for each of these domains that looks like this (creating four records with the altered development domain)?

environment1.test:
site_hosts:
  - canonical: environment1.test
    redirects:
      - www.environment1.test
local_path: ../site # path targeting local Bedrock site directory (relative to Ansible root)
admin_email: #Insert Address Here
multisite:
  enabled: true
  subdomains: false # Set to true if you're using a subdomain multisite install
ssl:
  provider: self-signed
cache:
  enabled: false
env:
  domain_current_site: environment1.test

If so, I have tried this approach and have not been able to achieve a successful multisite deployment.