PHP class for 2 body classes

Hi, roots noob here…

I actually found Roots after looking at Lumberjack which is built on Bedrock & Timber and I’m really liking how it is structured, but I have a question regarding the PHP Class structure based on the Body classes

as illustrated here:

https://discourse.roots.io/uploads/default/original/2X/b/b1e63bb1399a1a3962141ab4702fb6877961eb56.png

what would be best approach for creating a PHP Class that targeted 2 body classes (so in that case “location-template-default single”)

I understand I can have separate controllers Single and LocationTemplateDefault, which will both run, but what if I need a single class that runs when both of those 2 classes are present

Not necessarily the best example and I don’t have a current use case, but I could see where this might potentially be required.

(I guess this would apply to the javascript routing as well)

thanks for any suggestions
J

This is a difficult question to answer without a use case. The body classes are just a simple way to answer the question “What is this?” Using them to target controllers is mostly a matter of convenience, since WordPress is doing a lot of work for us. If we find ourselves in a situation where no single body class represents the thing we want to target, we can just create our own: https://github.com/roots/sage/blob/19057f60be1a5ecc466b2a0a1cb0eca0d367bb6e/app/filters.php#L8 In most cases, though, I feel like your issue would boil down to “I want to share functionality I wrote for ControllerA with ControllerB.” In this case, your best path would just be to extract that functionality from ControllerA so that it can be used in multiple places (Traits can be a good solution to this problem).

If you can provide a more concrete use case we may be able to give you a better answer.

1 Like

Hi thanks for the quick reply… you’re right,I’m best coming back to this when I have an actual practical use case