Rewrite URL

What are methods of doing URL rewrites? I am using trellis, bedrock and sage.
I have having trouble trying to rewrite the url from:

/services/app
to
/services?page=app

/services/app/1
to
/services?page=app&pn=1

I tried to put rewrite directives inside vagrant machine first: /etc/nginx/wordpress.conf
Before I actually add it to the provisioning template file: trellis\roles\wordpress-setup\templates\wordpress-site.conf.j2

I am new to nginx and having trouble writing the correct rewrite rule.
Any help is appreciated!

Thanks in advanced.

This is a good read if your starting out with trying to lock down nginx rewrites vs. return and what is best practice as well as examples.

I just skimmed through it and one of the examples looks like it directly relates to what your asking.

I understand that this is filed under trellis, and I apologize if this is totally off base for your specific use case.

Curious if you’ve considered using some of the WP core rewrite functions like add_permastruct and add_rewrite_rule instead of making edits to your nginx confs? e.g

function app_rewrite_basic() {
  add_rewrite_rule('^services/([^/]*)/?', 'services.php?page=$matches[1]', 'top');
  add_rewrite_rule('^services/([^/]*)/([^/]*)/?', 'services.php?page=$matches[1]&pn=$matches[2]', 'top');
}
add_action('init', 'app_rewrite_basic');

Anywho, I did find this article to be rather helpful in guiding me around nginx rewrites.

Thanks @GFargo

It actually doesn’t matter to me which method of rewrite I have to use as long as it gets the job done.
I’ll try the wordpress way.

@GFargo

I just tried it and found out WordPress Rewrite API does not work in an nginx server.

Hey @wchen02,

I’m currently run WordPress on nginx without any issue; have you checked out this codex page on Nginx in WordPress?

It sounds like you may need to adjust your nginx settings. Is this a multisite or single install we are talking about?

Per Multisite Docs: