Sage 9: $(document).trigger("EVENT"); across different route files not working

Hi there,

I started working with Sage 9 this weekend and love it. Thank you for the awesome work!
Now I face an issue, wich I do not appear to solve (I am stuck for a couple of hours):
I registered a couple of custom routes and have an issue with jQuery events.
Here is the setup:
in my custom route’s init method I have this:
console.log(‘My custom route init method works fine’);
$(document).on(“myEvent”, function(){
console.log(‘MyEvent Test works fine’);
});
in my common(.js) route file I have this in the finalize method:
$(document).trigger(“myEvent”);

I do not receive a JS error, but the second console.log in my custom route is not firing. If I however copy the same code in the init method of the common.js route file, both console logs work fine.

Is there any way to make events work across different route files?
(I am just a beginner, if anything is unclear, please let me know and I will try to add the information)

Thank you so much for your help.

• Jan

My guess is this is a scope issue; I’m not super familiar with how the finalize actions are set up, but try re-defining your event in your custom route’s finalize method, and see if that works?

Hey @runofthemill,

Thank you for your reply. Unfortunately that does not work as well.
However, it does work in the finalize method of common.js, if
$(document).on(“myEvent”, function(){
console.log(‘MyEvent Test works fine’);
});
Is written before:
$(document).trigger(“myEvent”);

Perhaps you or anyone else has another idea?

Thank you for your help!!

• Jan

You can take a look at how Sage triggers JS events by examining the router code, which is fairly straightforward: https://github.com/roots/sage/blob/master/resources/assets/scripts/util/Router.js

As for troubleshooting, I would look at the following things:

• What is the behavior if you target a specific element, rather than document?