Sage getting started

Hello! I’ve been digging into sage for some time but it’s hard for me to move ahead. All information I’ve found in the internet gives general guidelines on installing, but then I don’t grasp what to do.
I created my project with composer, installed all dependencies with yarn and then built with yarn build.
I have some experience with Wordpress, created sites and templates, but now after these steps I don’t know how to continue; to modify the front end and the back end. I started reading the book, but it’s written about sage 8 and sage 9 seems to be different.
Please, I’ll appreciate if anyone can send or recommend me links, providing more profound information about development with sage.
Thank you

Hi, sorry you’re having so much difficulty with Sage. How much theme development experience do you have? It’s stated in the docs, I think, that Sage shouldn’t be anyone’s first custom theme. Developing with Sage assumes a lot of prior knowledge of WordPress theme development.

Roughly, to make the changes you’re asking about, you would edit the template files in resources/views, and the Scss files in resources/assets/styles.

There are Sage9 docs on GitHub here, too: https://github.com/roots/docs/

2 Likes

Thank you MWDelaney, I have made themes in Wordpress and built sites as well, but my experience consists in writing pure php, html and css. When it comes to Laravel Blades and SASS, well, I’m taking my first steps now. Besides, there are questions I still can’t answer by myself, like do I have to manually install Webpack and other features or tey are installed along with the first creation of the the Sage project? Logically I conclude that I only need the requirements listed in https://github.com/roots/sage.
Thank you for your reply.

OK, I installed the theme by
composer create-project roots/sage your-theme-name dev-master
then checked /my-theme/resources/assets/confit.json file and everything seems fine.