(Separate Server for Subdomain) Seemingly successful use of Trellis, but production server seemingly not handling requests appropriately

I am very new to Wordpress / Roots.io / nginx so I would like to apologize in advance for my stupidity. :slight_smile:

I have spent a couple days trying to figure this out and I clearly have a gap in my understanding of how this all works.

I am trying to install Wordpress onto a subdomain that I am hosting separately from my domain, via a DreamHost DreamCompute instance (Ubuntu 16.04). I am setting up everything using Trellis and trying to acclimate myself towards Wordpress best practices. I am also using Bedrock / Sage.

So I finally successfully got through all of the steps of setting up Trellis, from Development >> Deployment, but I cannot figure out why it is not working on my production site. (By successful I mean I received no errors via vagrant or otherwise).

*Replaced hostname with blog.example.com / blog.example.dev for clarity

My development site works flawlessly (blog.example.dev), but my production site seems to not be serving any requests (blog.example.com). By this I mean, when I go to blog.example.com or its IP address I am told the page is not working and that it did not send any data. This makes me think there is a problem with how nginx is setup, but clear guess work on my part.

All of the files seem to be in the right location (/srv/www/blog.example.com/current/web) and my nginx conf file seems to be in order:

Ansible managed: /vagrant/roles/wordpress-setup/templates/wordpress-site.conf.j2 modified on 2016-08-06 20:54:59 by vagrant on blog

server {
listen 80;

server_name blog.example.com ;
access_log /srv/www/blog.example.com/logs/access.log;
error_log /srv/www/blog.example.com/logs/error.log;

root /srv/www/blog.example.com/current/web;
index index.php index.htm index.html;

charset utf-8;

add_header Fastcgi-Cache $upstream_cache_status;

include acme-challenge-location.conf;