Trellis-Backup, an ansible role for local backups

Continuing the discussion from Your Agency's Backup Plan:

I’ve created a preliminary GitHub repo of an Ansible role for defining a set of backup jobs called Trellis-Backup.

The goal is to use the existing site information defined by Trellis to configure useful backup jobs, which are in turn created by Stouts.backup, that will be stored locally on the server. These can then be moved/rsynced/included in snapshots for a more thorough backup solution.

Currently two jobs are defined per site in group_vars/production/wordpress_sites.yml:

• Uploads
  • Database

I would love some feedback on this. I am brand new to Ansible and have honestly muddled my way through this as best I can. If anyone with a better handle on Ansible and best practices could take a look I would really appreciate it.

One final note, I briefly investigated using ansible-duply-backup, but it appears with the way they define their backup job keys, I cannot automatically create jobs using {{ wordpress_sites }} the way I can with Stouts.backup. If anyone has a way to do this, so that I can use that more mature project instead to create the backup jobs, that would be great.

Thank you for your time!

12 Likes

There appears to be a problem with Stouts.backup that’s preventing jobs from running (a hard coded path to Duplicity is incorrect). I’ve submitted an Issue on their GitHub here.

Here’s a rundown of the fix:

In Stouts.backup/templates/cron.j2

FIND:

{{profile.schedule}} {{profile.user|default(backup_user)}} /usr/local/bin/duply {{backup_home}}/{{profile.name}} {{profile.action|default('backup')}} >> {{backup_logdir}}/{{profile.name}}.log 2>&1

CHANGE TO:

{{profile.schedule}} {{profile.user|default(backup_user)}} /usr/bin/duply {{backup_home}}/{{profile.name}} {{profile.action|default('backup')}} >> {{backup_logdir}}/{{profile.name}}.log 2>&1