URL exceptions & variable meta fields dependent on chosen taxonomy

Hello all, I am relatively new to Sage 9. I’ve been lurking the forums for a few months, soaking up ideas and have currently only built 1 production site with Sage, but I have been experimenting a lot to make everything “click”.

Anyways, I have some pretty large projects approaching and want to build them with Sage. I have general direction, but just curious about 2 things and wondering if the community can shed some insight:

1. I am building out a product catalogue for the site to be built around. I am creating a CPT using Models and sprinkling in some extra options with Extended-CPT. I have a custom taxonomy for “Product Type” (category), then another custom taxonomy for “Brand” tags. Basically, my desired flow is: Products > Product Type > Brand > Singular product. Each item in flow should have its own template. Using Extended CPTs, I was able to get my permalink structure down. My question is how to handle the exceptions? Every product will have a Product Type, but not a brand. Currently, when I add a product with no brand tag checked, it will replace the /brand-name/ URL slug with the cpt name of /products/. This leads to the URLs looking like /product-type/products/product-name. Which hurts my feelings. How would you guys handle something like this in Sage?

2. I need to have my post (product) display different meta fields depending on the chosen taxonomy (product type). I have accomplished this with CMB2 in the past, however, the post needed to published with the taxonomy selected first, before the fields would show up. I would like to have this automatically change via ajax as the taxonomy is selected, instead of having to refresh.