Using log1x/acf-composer for acf blocks means tight coupling with sage and blade templating for blocks no?

Im just new to learning gutenberg blocks, naturally most YouTube tutorials are for creating native react based blocks, so i saw barrier to entry was much lower if I used acf blocks instead. It looks like acf blocks are now trying to match the native wordpress block creation by using block.json to define configurations for each block. in fact some tutorials i have come across even use @wordpress/create-block with acf to create blocks.

If you were to create blocks using block.json and acf without log1x/acf-composer , you could then re-use your blocks in different wordpress themes as they are not tightly coupled to sage and blade.

So my question would be, what is the advantage of using log1x/acf-composer if you cant re-use the blocks in different themes?

There isn’t an advantage. ACF Composer merely provides an opinionated improved developer experience. It’s up to you to weigh the benefits.

The advantage for me are:

• Auto syncing among the various environments. (No need to go into environments database and click sync or whatever the command is)
  • Not having to hop between custom field GUI and the text editor. This sounds small but makes for a much better workflow.
  • Users with Admin-level access cannot accidentally or intentionally edit custom fields.

@Log1x Thanks for creating acf-composer, Poet and Navi. I’m using Navi and its great. I guess that’s what I’m trying to figure out, trying to weight the benefits.

@rguttersohn For your last two points, couldnt you still just use ACF Builder for this?

Can you expand on the Auto syncing ?

Is there future improvements for ACF Composer to move towards block.json config ?

I’ve pondered with the idea of what block.json integration would look like but there’s no active development at the moment.