Very new to Roots and have some questions

Hey folks, I was exposed to Roots.io last night and it was really intriguing since I’m creating wp websites in the traditional way.

I’m not a WordPress developer but I do build websites. I use the Elementor Pro Page builder to build a website which I find to be the easiest way to create beautiful websites instantly.

So, my questions are:

1. Why build a website from scratch using a lot of coding instead of using Page builders. (I’m really curious about the pros and cons).

2. It will be efficient to use Trellis and Bedrock and still designing a webpage using Page Builders?
    since I do want to have Local > Staging > Production structure where I don’t use it now and do my changes always on the production site (I know it’s stupid but I didn’t know any other way :slight_smile: )

3. What will be the best way to get into the learning curve of Roots.io, since I have 0 experience with developing in general. I really don’t know how or where to start.

Thank you guys for all the help!

1 Like

First, I think it helps to understand Trellis, Bedrock and Sage:

• Trellis is a local development and server deployment tools. It allows you to run a development environment on your local machine and automates deployment to your different servers (staging, production, etc).
  • Bedrock is a Wordpress boilerplate which uses modern dev tools and best practices. It’s essentially the core of Wordpress, but built with a modern architecture.
  • Sage is a Wordpress theme framework. It allows you to develop a custom theme using best practices common in modern web development.

So to your question: