Why choose Sage over Underscore in 2022?

I’d like to hear from the community as to why is Sage better than underscore?

Also, if I am just starting out, should I buy the ‘Theme Development with Sage’ book or just start with sage10 documentation?

Any advice would be highly appreciated.

I think this chart was created for Sage 9 but should mostly still apply. Sage vs Underscores | WordPress Starter Themes | Roots

For Sage 10, ACF Composer is also probably the greatest tool I’ve ever encountered with WordPress and makes it not only easy to build blocks, widgets, and options , but fun!

The Sage book is a great reference and money well spent. That said, the number 10 version isn’t out yet, but the current book is on sale and you’ll get a free update when it’s ready.

2 Likes

I started Sage 9 and 10 without the book so I can’t tell much about it.
If you are familiar with doing custom Wordpress, the upgrade will be easy.
Roots improved a lot the way I develop on Wordpress; all is set to be do things properly.

Probably sage is the best for me. Since it was based on laravel framework, you can also import laravel stuff like service provider. Sage is a MVC Pattern (Model View Controller). Views and Controller will be completely separated which enables us to reuse Views more conveniently.

1 Like

Shameless copy/paste from our comparison page:

If Underscores is a “1,000 hour head start”, Sage is a 10,000 hour head start.

Thanks for sharing, Colin! This is indeed mostly still relevant, and will be getting a refresh in the near future :+1: