Why doesn't Alpine.js work properly

I’m pretty new to Roots. Loving it so far, but I can’t seem to figure some very basic things out at the same time.

I’m trying to get Alpine.js to work/load with my fresh Sage theme. I’ve only done three things to a default sage10 install:

yarn add alpinejs

I then added import 'alpinejs'; to resources/scripts/app.js.

Next, I created a trivial example to see if it’s working:

I added to resources/views/partials/header.blade.php:

<div x-data="{ open: false }">
    <button @click="open = true">Open Dropdown</button> 
    <ul
        x-show="open"
        @click.away="open = false"
    >
        Dropdown Body
    </ul>
</div>

I was under the impression that it would work and it did not.

I tried to restart yarn start. Ran yarn && yarn build. Nothing, no luck.

What is it that I’m missing?

EDIT: It might have something to to with adding a defer attribute to the script tags, but I’m not sure how to do that either. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

1 Like

Any JavaScript errors in console when loading the page?

I would recommend following Alpine’s instructions for how to install it as a module:
https://alpinejs.dev/essentials/installation#as-a-module

3 Likes

Ah, yes, thank you so much. I’m so new to all this I easily miss things like this. This is indeed the correct solution.

A follow-up to that, if I follow the Alpine.js instructions it works great, but curiously I still can’t remove jQuery!

Here are the lines from app/setup.php:

/**
 * Register the theme assets.
 * @return void
 */
add_action('wp_enqueue_scripts', function () {
    wp_enqueue_script('sage/vendor.js', asset('scripts/vendor.js')->uri(), ['jquery'], null, true);
    wp_enqueue_script('sage/app.js', asset('scripts/app.js')->uri(), ['sage/vendor.js'], null, true);

wp_add_inline_script('sage/vendor.js', asset('scripts/manifest.js')->contents(), 'before');

if (is_single() && comments_open() && get_option('thread_comments')) {