Working with GRUNT in a (live) dev environment powered by SVN

Hello Everyone

I’m very new to working with Grunt and LESS so I’m trying to get things going at a reasonably pace for myself. My dev environment is live, all commits to SVN get pushed to the DEV server so that multiple developers working with me can access and update on the fly to a dedicated development server. This has benefits for multiple developers working together from different areas.

The downside is that there is no real local development because changes are pushed to the server so the entire team can see and work with the modifications. From looking at the using grunt screencast, it appears that grunt will only run when you locally run the operation.

Are there any options of having grunt run on the server end or would someone need to update the SVN on their end, run the grunt operation and then do a new commit with grunt run changes performed locally first?

Thanks

I would like to know the same!
I absolutely love Grunt and LESS in Roots, so far I’ve been developing a project locally in MAMP with Grunt watch but now I’m ready to deploy the project to a (shared) webhosting environment.

What are the options to keep on using Grunt server side? A workflow where you have to make modifications locally in order to keep on using Grunt and manually upload all the modified files every time, is not really an option for me.

Can’t really find any documentation about this…
Thanks!

There’s no reason why Grunt can’t be run server-side. It’s really no different than running it locally. You just need Node + Grunt installed on the server and to run the same commands.

You could take a look at https://npmjs.org/package/grunt-deploy