Deploying Bedrock/Trellis on Kinsta, understanding the impact

Hi guys,

First of all, thanks for your great projects, I really like what you’re trying to achieve here.

I am new to the whole WP environment and learned about Bedrock & Trellis a week ago. I spent about a week to read docs and set up my local dev environment. I am currently developing a website on WordPress using Kinsta as a hosting provider and my goal is to set up a workflow including local dev. using trellis and deploy to Kinsta staging for tests, Kinsta live for production. So far, there seems to be a perfect fit between what I desire to do and the Trellis/Bedrock approach.

However, before actually trying to deploy on Kinsta staging, I would like to ask a few naïve questions to the roots community:

1. Will trellis actually (re)provision Kinsta’s servers and change their configuration? Or is trellis just used to deploy on Kinsta? Should I expect an impact in terms of performance?

2. Will Kinsta tools to manage my site such the ones below still work? Or should I configure everything using trellis

3. Will using Bedrock/Trellis prevent me from relying on Kinsta for support?

Sorry the silly questions

Cheers

When you use Trellis with Kinsta, you are just using the deploy capability of Trellis, not provisioning the server - Kinsta do that.

So to answer your questions:

Will trellis actually (re)provision Kinsta’s servers and change their configuration?

No

Or is trellis just used to deploy on Kinsta?

Yes

Should I expect an impact in terms of performance?

In your workflow yes - otherwise performance will depend on lots of factors… Kinsta is a great host IMO.

Will Kinsta tools to manage my site such the ones below still work?

Yes

Or should I configure everything using trellis?

That would only apply if Trellis was provisioning the server.

Will using Bedrock/Trellis prevent me from relying on Kinsta for support?