How I sync wordpress databases between development, staging, and production

This is a topic I’ve seen discussed a few times, but nothing quite ever fit my needs or I simply couldn’t get it to work (I’m new to this!). A lot of people seem to be using capistrano-wpcli or WP Migrate DB Pro. However, I couldn’t get Capistrano-WPCLI to work and I didn’t feel like paying for WP Migrate.

Enter this topic. The discussion here gave me the idea and the necessary commands to write a simple shell script that I could use to automate syncing databases between environments as needed.

For example, the script below syncs the development database to the staging website. *this assumes you’re using Trellis and Bedrock

cd ~/path/to/site/example.com/trellis
vagrant ssh <<EOF
 	cd /srv/www/example.com/current
 	wp db export
 	exit
 EOF
 cd ~/path/to/site/example.com/site
 scp example_com_development.sql web@staging.example.com:/srv/www/example.com/current
 rsync -azP web/app/uploads/ web@staging.example.com:/srv/www/example.com/shared/uploads/
 ssh -t -t web@staging.example.com <<EOF
 	cd /srv/www/example.com/current
 	wp db import example_com_development.sql
 	wp search-replace example.dev staging.example.com
 	rm example_com_development.sql
 	exit
 EOF

Now I’m sure there are definitely ways that this can be improved and extended! I’m pretty new to this and even this simpler script took me a while and many different articles to piece together.

One drawback is that this will rewrite the wordpress users for the staging/production websites, which means you need to make sure your development vault.yml is encrypted if you’re on a public git repo. I’m sure it’d also be wise to extend the the script so that it creates a backup of the database of whichever environment you’re syncing to.

Eventually I’d like to combine it with @Twansparant’s Trellis DB Sync so that I could also keep databases synced between computers.