Php error when app/themes or app/plugins directories are not empty

Hello all,

I’m quite new to all of this, but for whatever reason feel a strong pull toward Bedrock. I’m in a little over my head getting all this up and running with Vagrant and so I have three questions:

Question 1: How does one complete Step 5 of roots/bedrock install instructions which specifies:

Set your Nginx or Apache vhost to /path/to/site/web/ (/path/to/site/current/web/ if using Capistrano)

I can see in this thread that Scott says to do the above step 5, but my problem is that I simply don’t know how to set vhosts in Vagrant.

This may be irrelevant, but I’m using the hostsupdated plugin and can see that it is successfully adding lines to my machine’s hosts file.

Question 2: I see that my .env file after running vagrant up has become an alias (or symlink, right?)

.env → /srv/www/example.dev/shared/.env

First off, is this supposed to happen? Secondly, I don’t see this dir anywhere within my bedrock-ansible or example.dev dir’s. Is this something I can access? If so, how?

Question 3: This is the primary reason I’m posting. When I log in as admin (with the credentials specified in .env and group_vars/all) the install appears to be okay, except that http://example.dev/wp/wp-admin/themes.php and http://example.dev/wp/wp-admin/plugins.php show a php error if the corresponding example.dev/web/app/ directories (/themes and /plugins) are not empty. In other words, I get no error if those dir are not being used, but once I place a theme or plugin into those directories, I get the corresponding error at the top of the page:

Themes error:

Warning: An unexpected error occurred. Something may be wrong
with WordPress.org or this server’s configuration. If you continue to